Leaders Creating Leaders for Tomorrow

HCOP recognizes annual award winners

Two people stand holding a teddy bear Dr. Allison Helmer (left) receives the Hargreaves teddy bear from Dr. Emily McCoy.

June 20, 2023

AUBURN, Alabama - Outstanding Harrison College of Pharmacy students, staff, faculty members and preceptors were recognized in ceremonies on April 13, April 26, May 4 and May 8 as part of the 63rd Annual Hargreaves Awards Program.

In all, more than 60 awards were given to more than 100 recipients. Dr. Allison Helmer took the top honor, the Hargreaves Faculty Mentor Award.

The awards program is coordinated by the HCOP Awards Committees. Serving on the student awards committee was Dr. Brent Fox (chair), Dr. Miranda Andrus, Kaylen Anderson, Charlotte Cheatham, Olivia Shanks and Dr. Pamela Stamm. On the faculty and staff committee were Dr. Salisa Westrick (chair), Kaylen Anderson, Ginger Blair, Leigh Ann Boone, Dr. Angela Calderon, Missy du Toit, Dr. Kristi Kelley, Dr. Daniel Trujillo, Dr. Sylvia Rogers, Dr. Lynn Stevenson and Marian Williams. Additionally, Jenny Johnston coordinated graduate student awards.

Hargreaves Awards logo

This Year's Award Winners

Pharm.D. Student Awards

ALSHP Health System Student Award
Lauren Steil

Viatris Excellence in Pharmacy Award
Baylea Kyle

Excellence in Clinical Communication
Mattie Kilpatrick

Excellence in Hospital Practice Award
Katelyn Carswell
Allison Sell Raymond

Dr. Byron B. Williams Award
Shelby Bradley

Professionalism Award
P1 - Allie Blubaugh
P1 - Autumn Edwards
P2 - Blake McClellan
P2 - Thomas Raymond
P3 - Angelique Holmes
P3 - Amber Smith
P4 - Holly Webster

Auburn University President’s Award
Caroline Jackson

HCOP Graduation Marshal
Will Cordell

Pharmacy Student Research Award
Klaudia Harris
Randy Hooks
Madison Sanders

Walker Medal
Ryleigh Berry

McKesson Drug Company Award
Victoria Baker

Merck Award
Sarah Grace Cook
Jordon Ellison
Emily Oliver

U.S. Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice
Ray Waliagha

American Institute of the History of Pharmacy Student Certificate of Recognition
Anna Mardis

Rho Chi Award
Hannah Best
Amanda McAllister
Mary Grace Underwood

Introductory Pharmacy Practice Experience Patient Care and Professionalism Award
Ansleigh Floyd
Morgan Pierce

SGA Outstanding Student Award
P1 – Keila Adams
P2- Bailey Deas
P3- Lori Black
P4 - Lori Cheng

Student Council Officer Recognition
Ashleigh Neese (President)
Andrea Nichols (Vice President)
Jessica Richardson (Vice President-Mobile)
Molly Kate Farris (Secretary)
Maddie Northington (Senator)
Carson Tierce (Treasurer)
Thomas Raymond (Treasurer-Mobile)

Pharmacy School Council Leadership Award
Kaitlin Beyler
Hailey Curtis
Anna Piech
Ryan Pinto

Graduate Student Awards

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistants
Kamel Ahmed
Ishwor Poudel

Merriwether Fellowships
Manjusha Annaji
Ishwor Poudel
Suhrud Pathak

Outstanding PhD Students
Manjusha Annaji
Ishwor Poudel
Ian Steinke
Bang Truong

Outstanding International Students
Sayak Chakravarti
Iris Kang
Heqin Yang
Chenyu Zou

Graduate Student Council Travel Fellowships
Olasubomi Akintola
Manjusha Annaji
Kabre Heck
Kelli McDonald
Charlotte Muse
Ishwor Poudel
Zarna Raichura
Chenyou Zou

Dean's Travel Awards
Kamel Ahmed
Salsabil Ahmed
Olasubomi Akintola
Manjusha Annaji
Brandy Davis
Oluchukwu Ezeala
Fnu Ibtisam
Iris Kang
Asmita Khatiwada
Tim Lai
Nick McCormick
Kelli McDonald
Charlotte Muse
Zarna Raichura
Sriraja Srinivasa
Kaniz Tanni
Bang Truong
Qi Wang
Xiangzhong Xue
Heqin Yang
Chenyu Zou

Presidential Graduate Opportunity Program
Destini Thornton

Auburn University Student Research Symposium Winners
Manjusha Annaji
Brandy Davis
Oluchukwu Ezeala
Asmita Khatiwada
Nick McCormick
Junwei Wang

NIH Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award Individual Predoctoral Fellowship to Promote Diversity in Health-Related Research
Kabre Heck

Innovation and Value Initiative Fellowship
Tim Lai

American Society of Pharmacognosy Annual Meeting – ASP Lynn Brandy Travel Award
Kabre Heck

American Society for Mass Spectrometry Travel Stipend
Kabre Heck

Bristol Myers Squibb - Early Target Biology Internship
Sayak Chakravarti

American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists Travel Award
Ishwor Poudel

American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists Abstracts Award, AAPS-PharmSci
Ishwor Poudel

AstraZeneca Research Award, AAPS-PharmSci
Ishwor Poudel

American Society of Hematology - Best Abstract Achievement Award
Salsabil Ahmed

Clinical and Translational Science Training Program
Chenyu Zou

Sterile Formulations Development Lab, Alcami Corporation Summer Internship
Ishwor Poudel

Faculty/Staff/Community Awards

Hargreaves Faculty Mentor Award
Dr. Allison Helmer

Outstanding Teacher Award
Dr. Jack DeRuiter

Outstanding Student Advocate
Dr. Rebecca Cummings

Friend of Pharmacy Award
Dr. Bassel El-Rayes, Director of the Division of Hematology and Oncology at the University of Alabama-Birmingham

Outstanding Contribution from Auburn University Colleague
Jim O’Connor, Auburn University Chief Information Officer

APPE Preceptors of the Year
Dr. Courtney Haiflich, Acute Care APPE
Dr. Samer Hamid, Ambulatory Care APPE
Dr. Jenna Sherrer, Health System Practice APPE
Dr. Elizabeth Radford, Community Pharmacy APPE

IPPE Preceptors of the Year
Dr. Tal Lynn, Community IPPE
Tracey Allen, Institutional IPPE
Dr. Bobby Helmer, Clinical IPPE
Dr. Kim Clemmons, Health and Wellness IPPE

Preceptor of Excellence Awards (Faculty)
Auburn-Montgomery: Dr. Kelly Hester
Birmingham-Tuscaloosa: Dr. Marilyn Bulloch
Columbus: Dr. Pamela Stamm
Huntsville: Dr. Miranda Andrus
Mobile Pensacola: Dr. Sean Smithgall

Outstanding Experiential Partner
Dr. Jacob Boydston, Gadsden Regional

Outstanding Resident Teacher Award
Dr. Megan Carter

CE Presenter of the Year
Dr. Lea Eiland

Faculty Research and Outreach Excellence Awards
Dr. Rusty Arnold

Alabama Department of Mental Health
Dr. Brent Fox
Dr. Karen Marlow
Dr. Haley Phillippe

Alabama Department of Public Health
Dr. Brent Fox
Dr. Lindsey Hohmann
Dr. Karen Marlow
Dr. Haley Phillippe

Dr. Surachat Ngorsuraches

Alabama Department of Public Health
Dr. Kimberly Braxton-Lloyd
Dr. Spencer Durham
Dr. Bobby Helmer
Dr. Lynn Stevenson
Dr. Salisa Westrick

Fox Chase Cancer Center
Dr. Xi Chen
Dr. Adam Keeton
Dr. Yulia Maxuitenko
Dr. Gary Piazza

American Heart Association
Raj Amin

Outstanding Staff Member Award
Kristy Berry

Outstanding Health Professional Award
Dr. Courtney Gamston

Embracing Innovation Staff Award
Renee Delaney

Exemplary Service Award
Missy Du Toit

Exemplary Leadership Award
Kathy Kyle

Pinnacle Award
Dr. Nathan Pinner
Dr. Jessica Starr


About the Harrison College of Pharmacy

Auburn University’s Harrison College of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 25 percent of all pharmacy programs in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the College offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. The College's commitment to world-class scholarship and interdisciplinary research speaks to Auburn's overarching Carnegie R1 designation that places Auburn among the top 100 doctoral research universities in the nation. For more information about the College, please call 334.844.8348 or visit http://pharmacy.auburn.edu.

Making Medications Work Through Innovative Research, Education and Patient Care

Last Updated: August 09, 2023