Leaders Creating Leaders for Tomorrow

Faculty Earn Promotion and Tenure

Graphic with head shots of each faculty member

April 12, 2024

AUBURN, Alabama – Six Harrison College of Pharmacy faculty members were recently awarded promotion or tenure, recognizing their outstanding efforts within the school. The promotions are effective October 1, 2024.

“I am very excited for our amazing faculty members who have earned tenure or promotion and want to congratulate them for reaching this milestone,” said Leigh Ann Ross, dean of the Harrison College of Pharmacy. “This is a significant achievement in their professional journey and reflects a high level of dedication and commitment to scholarly endeavors and teaching.”

In the Department of Drug Discovery and Development, Dr. Amal Kaddoumi was granted tenure while Dr. Raj Amin was promoted to professor. Dr. Amit Mitra was also granted tenure and promoted to associate professor. Kaddoumi joined the Harrison College of Pharmacy, or HCOP, in 2017 as professor while Amin joined in 2009 as an assistant professor and was promoted to associate professor in 2016. Mitra joined HCOP as an assistant professor in 2017.

In the Department of Health Outcomes Research and Policy, Dr. Surchat Ngorsuraches was promoted to professor. He joined HCOP in 2018 as an associate professor.

In the Department of Pharmacy Practice, Dr. Lena McDowell was promoted to associate clinical professor while Dr. Jessica Starr was promoted to clinical professor. McDowell joined HCOP in 2017 and also serves as the coordinator of introductory pharmacy practice experiences. Starr joined HCOP in 2006 as an assistant clinical professor and was promoted to associate clinical professor in 2012.

“Health care and pharmacy are changing rapidly and we are fortunate at the Harrison College of Pharmacy to have faculty who are established leaders and experts in their fields,” said Ross. “These faculty members are helping navigate positive changes for our future and we appreciate their contributions as colleagues, scholars and educators.”


About the Harrison College of Pharmacy

Auburn University’s Harrison College of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 25 percent of all pharmacy programs in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the College offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. The College's commitment to world-class scholarship and interdisciplinary research speaks to Auburn's overarching Carnegie R1 designation that places Auburn among the top 100 doctoral research universities in the nation. For more information about the College, please call 334.844.8348 or visit http://pharmacy.auburn.edu.

Leaders Creating Leaders For Tomorrow

Last Updated: April 12, 2024